VO1111MBK01093H.JPGThe first time I heard the VCU student section and The Peppas belt out, “You don’t want to go to war, with the Raaaaaaams”, I got chills. When Chris “Pavarotti” Crowley dressed up like Blaine Taylor’s doppelganger, I laughed. When students came by the busload to the Final Four in Houston, I nearly lost my mind.

Here’s the portion of the blog where you pat yourselves on the back: The VCU student section – which includes but isn’t necessarily limited to the Rowdy Rams – is incredible. They are literally the backbone of the gameday atmosphere at the Verizon Wireless Arena.

Here’s where things get real. Those of us who are at VCU games know how good our student section is. Now it’s time to let everybody else know. I Love College Hoops is going to name the Naismith Student Section of the Year. The winning school gets $10,000 toward its general scholarship fund. It also gets to call itself the best student section in the country. Last year Kansas won, and we all know what happens between VCU and Kansas when the chips are down.

Here’s how it works. Click HERE and “like” the I Love College Hoops Facebook page. They’ll be posting voting instructions tonight. First round voting begins tonight, and 16 schools advance to the second round. Make it happen, people.