Fordham Coach Tom Pecora is 0-9 as a head coach at VCU's Siegel Center.

Fordham Coach Tom Pecora is 0-9 as a head coach at VCU’s Siegel Center.

RICHMOND, Va. – Fordham Coach Tom Pecora knows VCU and the Verizon Wireless Arena well. He was the head coach at Hofstra from 2001-2010 and waged many a battle with VCU on this floor. He knows how hard it is to win here, too. After Wednesday’s 74-60 loss to VCU, Pecora is 0-9 all-time as a head coach in the building.

Following the game, he offered high praise for the program and gameday atmosphere VCU has built over the years.

I was talking to Mike Litos before the game…and I was telling him, I remember coming here in 2000 as the head coach at Hofstra after being the assistant there for seven years, and it was our first year in the CAA, and maybe 2,000 people [here] at a home game, and now you see the place rocking, and the band’s going, and the place is packed, and it’s just a great college basketball atmosphere. So, kudos to everybody here who’s part of making game night as good as it is here. I like pulling up to arenas and seeing people waiting to get in. It’s a good feeling for college basketball.

On the down side of that, as I was walking in and I said, hell, I’ve come in here with some pretty good Hofstra teams and never won, I’m coming in with a Fordham team that’s not that good yet.

Meanwhile, Fordham reserve Jared Fay was also impressed.

This season alone, Fordham has played games at Syracuse, versus St. John’s at Madison Square Garden, at Saint Louis and at UMass.

