Maybe I’m jumping the gun, but it sure looks to me like former Ram Larry Sanders is turning a corner in his NBA career. Yes, it’s been only two games, which means there’s real potential here for me to eat my words, but I’m seeing things out of Larry I didn’t even know he was capable of. In two games, Larry is averaging 13.5 points, 7.0 rebounds and 3.0 blocks per game. He has, for the first time in his three seasons, appeared to establish a role in Milwaukee’s eight-man rotation.

Here are highlights from Larry’s career-high 17 point, seven rebound, four block performance against Cleveland. Watch the three plays in succession beginning at the 1:10 mark. The spin, lefty hook, the dribble drive to the rim, the smooth jumper from 20 feet. He just looks different. That second play, when he takes a couple of dribbles and gets to the rack, that’s a guard play, folks. Find me another 6-foot-11 power forward who can do that.

Larry has clearly benefited from a more normal training camp this summer. When I talked to him a couple of weeks ago, he said the lockout really hurt his season last year. Larry’s a guy that is stillĀ  very much learning how to play the game. He needs reps. He’s getting them now, and he’s starting to really tap into that vast reservoir of talent.

