Nicklas Lidstrom led the Detroit Red Wings to a 21st consecutive playoff appearance this season.

By Andrew Dykstra

It is that rough time of year for watching sports… for me anyway. I’m not an NBA fan and have never been a baseball fan, and that is all that dominates ESPN these days. ESPN is what is on constantly in the D.C. United locker room. Fortunately, there are a few things that will have my attention and keep me occupied till next football season:

1. The NHL playoffs. The regular season can be tough to watch at times. My team is the Detroit Red Wings. Unless they are playing Chicago, St Louis, Vancouver or maybe a big-time eastern division team, the games can be uninteresting at times. They play so many games during the year, that you can’t expect every game to be live or die. But now we are in the playoffs and I’m thankful. I’m watching the Red Wings series with the Nashville Predators right now.

2. Like the World Cup, during the summer, every four years, the Euro Cup is played between the top European national teams. This year, I believe it will be on ESPN. It’s being played in Poland, unless I’m mistaken. Holland and Germany are my teams to watch. Both are talented teams, with the Germans being one of the best tournament teams in the history of soccer. It’s always interesting to see what England does and Spain is only two years off their World Cup championship.

This is where my attention will be from now through the summer. Then, we can finally return to football. Word is Michigan football opens with Alabama… big test, can’t wait.

Let’s Go Wings!

Andrew Dykstra plays for D.C. United of Major League Soccer. He was a four-year starter in goal for the VCU Men’s Soccer Team from 2005-08 and spent two seasons with the Chicago Fire of the MLS before playing the 2011 season with the Charleston Battery of the USL. For Dykstra’s other blog posts, check here.

