By Andrew Dykstra

As of Feb. 20, I will be officially signed with DC United. It has taken some time working through negotiations and feeling out my options, but I feel that this was the best move for me. I was told before my Euro excursion that I was welcome back to DC if it did not work out the way I hoped.

It has taken three years now for the opportunity with the home team but it’s finally here. The players are great, the coaches are great and the team looks good. I came in at an odd time for the team because they have been making moves throughout the winter, buying, trading and selling players without the thought of ever having me a part of the team. After showing what I can bring to the table this preseason, I have been told that they are “lucky and happy to have me with the team.” I’m happy and looking forward to the season ahead.

There are still plans and hopes to further my career overseas, and DC knows that. But as long as I’m with this group, I will be sweating black and red every day… although I will always bleed black and gold!

Andrew Dykstra was a four-year starter in goal for the VCU Men’s Soccer Team from 2005-08. He spent two seasons with the Chicago Fire of Major League Soccer and played the 2011 season with the Charleston Battery of the USL. For Dykstra’s other blog posts, check here.

