Briante Weber won't float here all day. At least, we don't think so.

I don’t know if Briante Weber can play a lick of basketball. Okay, let me rephrase that. I don’t know if Briante Weber will be a good, great, not-so-great, a star or a wash as a basketball player at VCU. His entire career is still in front of him. I haven’t seen him even dribble a basketball once, so I have no idea what kind of player he’ll be for the Rams.

What I do know is that Weber is A-T-H-L-E-T-I-C. VCU Head Coach Shaka Smart tweeted tonight that Weber had registered the highest vertical leap ever recorded by a VCU Basketball player, 45 ½ inches. That’s 3-feet, 9 ½ inches. You add that little nugget into Smart’s previous comments on the lean, 6-3, 160-lb freshman, that he’s got a crazy motor, that he’s the most fit Ram on the team, and you start to imagine the possibilities of a guy with that skill set. A fast, long guard that can jump over a Toyota Camry? That’s a havoc guard, baby.

Here are some things that Briante Weber can jump over:

A Weber grill: 40 inches
A yard: 36 inches
32-gallon trash can: 34 inches
Verne Troyer: 32 inches
Standard fire hydrant: 26 inches

…and here are a few highest reported (rumored?) NBA vertical leaps:

Darrell Griffith: 48 inches
Michael Jordan: 48 inches
Spud Webb: 46 inches
Nate Robinson: 43 ½ inches
Vince Carter: 43 inches
Julius Erving: 41 inches
Larry Bird: 28 inches (sorry Larry, I couldn’t help it)

Did anybody else just have a vision of Weber windmill jamming over Blaine Taylor on a fast break whilst drinking a milkshake and playing Angry Birds at the same time, or was that just me? I think that was just me.

