John Leguizamo says, "Go Rams!"As I type this, the VCU pep rally is raging outside. I opened the window to let the sounds of the pep band waft into my office. It feels good, real good.

Too bad I won’t be in San Antonio to see this through. My brother is getting married Friday, so I’ll be in Ohio this weekend. I knew this was coming, but didn’t want to acknowledge it until we got through last week. I told my wife, “we’ll cross that bridge when we get to it.” Well, we’re at the bridge.

In the end, the choice was easy, but I’d be lying if I said that not going didn’t feel a little bit like a kick to the gut. For the duration of the weekend, Mike Litos of CAAHoops.com will be taking over Around The Horns, much like when they replaced Aunt Viv with a different actor on Fresh Prince of Bel Air and didn’t say anything. Trust me, you’re in good hands. I’ll have at least one more feature on Brad Burgess before I let go of the reigns for a few days.

The last 10 days have been amazing, and I want more than anything for it to continue. If the Rams can get through this weekend, then I’ll move mountains to be in Houston, but one thing at a time.

Campus has been abuzz these last three days. Additionally, the amount of media coverage we’re getting is off the charts. I literally spent and hour and a half today walking around campus today with ESPN’s Kenny Mayne for a piece that will run on Thursday’s 6 p.m. Sportscenter. Pretty cool stuff.

We’re in uncharted territory here at VCU, so enjoy the ride. The fact that my mom knows what’s going on in the NCAA Tournament means it’s serious. My dad called me yesterday and gushed about Joey Rodriguez. My buddy, who had maybe seen us play once before last week has been texting me throughout this experience. He also texted me to ask me why John Leguizamo was running the point, but whatever. It’s progress.

It’s safe to say that we may never experience anything quite like this again. Not to say that VCU won’t return to the Sweet 16 or beyond, because I’m confident we’ll be back, but this combination of factors won’t be the same. Last week was so dizzying and defiant, so stunning.

All I want for Christmas is a trip to Houston.

